Day 13 – A Work “Retreat”, A Daily Dose of Motivation, and What Running With My Dogs Is Like…

First of all, I really love this blog…Manifest Station and her fun, inspiring reminders like this one, that I thought was so cool…

Any time I find a blog with awesome daily reminders to be yourself, and tips on yoga and all things awesome, I have to follow along!

 

Today was long, but ended up being pretty cool.  When I found out I had to go to the student affairs staff ‘retreat’ today I was kind of bummed.  I hate long lectures about mission statements and awkward ice breakers at those types of things.  And in my mind, being asked to go to a “RETREAT” should have included a tropical beach resort and spa treatments all day! No fair teasing me with a fake title! 

However, the administration did a WONDERFUL job of making it a really fun day.  No horrible ice breakers, just some fun activities and discussions to get to know each other better.  The new mission statement is actually REAL and AWESOME…it covers practical, down to earth aspects like HAPPINESS, and CULTURE, and CONTEMPLATION…WOW!  I was super impressed with all the staff and departments and their ideas!  I really do love working at the college level sometimes, especially at a school like this, and I wish my job there wasn’t just a 2 year assistantship…I really may be looking for anything fulltime that opens up in the future, especially if these new goals are followed through with!

I liked that we all got a chance to share our ideas, and I was excited to be able to see that my work was making real strides in student life as well…it was really neat.  Also, my supervisor mentioned my husband being deployed during introductions and it was super sweet to see the outpouring of support and well wishes from SO many staff members who came up to me throughout the day.  Really touching.

So onto the highlight adventure of the day…running with BOTH of the dogs at once…well I’ve been putting that off for a while, but due to accidentally having to run with them both a few weeks ago to avoid another couple hiking with their dogs, I realized they seemed to actually be behaving BETTER while running and figured I’d give it a try.  Then I put it off for two weeks while I built up the courage…

According to the internet, running with your dogs should look something like this…

Or this…

Notice that those dogs look semi-reasonable, none have crazy Hanibal Lector style muzzles on, and they don’t appear to be pulling their owners off the sides of the path.  Hmmm…interesting.

Now, I don’t have any pictures of what me running with my dogs looks like because there is no way I would have been able to hold my camera phone while making sure Chloe didn’t drag her face in the dirt trying to get her muzzle off, or trying to dive bomb the bikers and bite off their legs.  Jack is a little angel while running, thankfully, and despite all my whining, Chloe is actually much better at running than at walking, so it was really a fun outing all in all!  Also, we ended up at the lake and Chloe got to wade in the water and had a great time!  Jack spent the time barking at her to come back to shore since he doesn’t like getting wet.  The best part was it got all of their energy out…or MOST of their energy out, the rest of it is being released in a wrestlemania fight in our living room right now…

https://mail-attachment.googleusercontent.com/attachment/?ui=2&ik=07f19f5ca7&view=att&th=13950c76e210a5b5&attid=0.1&disp=inline&safe=1&zw&saduie=AG9B_P9jrGOMt2R8GfidMpFAA7UN&sadet=1345680811137&sads=GDXlCLWgWMSIf2aRogei9fHDHgw

https://mail-attachment.googleusercontent.com/attachment/?ui=2&ik=07f19f5ca7&view=att&th=13950c79be0d7903&attid=0.1&disp=inline&safe=1&zw&saduie=AG9B_P9jrGOMt2R8GfidMpFAA7UN&sadet=1345680832640&sads=qxno6w-j4oHckKv-RprE5Wyfp-g

I will definitely be making family running a habit…they seemed happy and genuinely tuckered out.  I know the more they get to unleash their energy in a positive way the better behaved they’ll be, so I’m all for it, and it’s a great way for me to get a run in without worrying about them being home alone after work!  Hopefully soon we’ll be running side by side like in the fancy Runner’s World photo shoots, and no longer trying to choke ourselves to eat bike tires…

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

