Day 18 – Yoga, Internship, and Crafts!

I was feeling pretty tired/lazy(?) this morning and had trouble convincing myself to get out of bed, and drive to the city to teach yoga.  It’s so strange how sometimes my mind just goes in weird directions and I get random anxiety about things that I actually enjoy doing.  It happened last night too, I didn’t go to a staff party because I wasn’t really sure what I’d say or do, and I just had this feeling that I wanted to stay home with the dogs and not go out at all.  I get like that sometimes…wanting to just hole up in the house with the pups and never go to work or school ever again.  Crazy, I know, and I also know that everyone goes through those thoughts to some extent, but it’s frustrating because once I actually force myself to go out and do what needs done I am so GLAD that I did them.

So, I got myself up, got dressed, and was greeted by the wonderful and ever-so-talked about sunflowers Eric planted for me before he left.  They just make me smile everytime I see them.  Sunflowers in general make me happy, plus the fact he planted them for me and they remind me of him, really they just brighten my day…

 

Having that little pick-me-up, I drove to the studio and was wonderfully surprised to have two new students and two old regulars who I haven’t seen in a while!  And I taught a really great class.  Immediately on getting on the mat I felt a sense of peace and calm…yoga is that space in my day when I can let every thing else fall away and really just focus on the present and it’s the best cure out there for any troubles or stress.  I really should cultivate a daily practice, even if just for a few minutes.

After yoga, I went to my second to last day of internship…it was a GREAT day.  I was able to sit in on a preadoptive family meeting AND on a meeting for a family far along in the adoption process for a sibling group.  This family is AMAZING and they give me so much hope about the fact that there are GREAT people in the world.  Taking in older children or siblings or kids with a history of behaviors, etc is such a task, but being so full of love and humor and acceptance is what sets these parents apart.  I love that I’ve been able to witness their case this summer, it was really an awe-inspiring experience.  It’s bittersweet that this is my last week at the agency, but I’m excited to find out about my next placement.

When I got home, I played with the pups who hate when I work all day…
so they run around the yard about a million times..

photo.JPG

 

And I made a craft I’m giving as a gift for a friend’s baby shower at work this week…

https://mail-attachment.googleusercontent.com/attachment/?ui=2&ik=07f19f5ca7&view=att&th=1396ab75b6ab86fa&attid=0.1&disp=inline&safe=1&zw&saduie=AG9B_P9jrGOMt2R8GfidMpFAA7UN&sadet=1346116599306&sads=NdoGJnxdKiQzb_Tqr8lVL0DTIMo

The varnish is drying so it looks a bit off, but I think it will turn out okay.  Not 100% sure how I feel about it…I was going to paint a picture on the panel to go along with the quote, but I thought the wood looked really neat and classic too so I went with the traditional look.  I was debating adding vines or flowers, or at least some color, but for now I liked the black and wood…still not sure if I’ll add to it tomorrow…

Leave a comment

Filed under Life, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

