Day 47 – The Perks of Being an Army Wife…

So, I’ve decided that I LOVE MyCAA!! For those of you who don’t know, it is a military spouse education benefits program that assists military spouses in getting education towards career- oriented trainings while their spouses are deployed. Since I do not have the money or time to attend a traditional 200 hour Yoga Teacher Training, I have been just making due with group fitness specialty certifications for my credentials as a teacher. However, if I want to make a career out of yoga someday, I will need to get registered as a 200 or 500 hour CYT at some point.

YogaFit Blog

Luckily, I found out about YogaFit from my supervisor, it is a wonderful training program that can lead to separate certifications in specific areas of yoga…but you can also take a sequence of all of their trainings over an unlimited time period and eventually get to your 200 hour requirements to become Yoga Alliance registered!

Thanks to MyCAA, I can use education benefits to attend my Level 1 Training this fall! I am also hoping if I can find the time, I can attend a few more before hubby comes home and make the most of having benefits like this while he is gone…at least I will feel I have made the most out of his deployment!

I think it is WONDERFUL that the military does this for spouses…they cover programs such as medical assistants, bar and restaurant worker certifications, massage therapy schools, etc…anything that can be finnished in the time of your spouse’s deployment and can lead to a career! Especailyl for active duty spouses, I think this is such a great idea…you need something you can bring with you no matter where you are stationed, and even for Guard or Reserves, like us, giving the extra opportunity for education and career advancement is so wonderful while your spouse is gone.

I am SO happy right now:)

2 Comments

Filed under army wife, fitness, Life

2 responses to “Day 47 – The Perks of Being an Army Wife…

  1. That’s so cool! I didn’t know about that (I’m not YET a military wife, but I will be in 10 months), but I’ll have to keep my eyes peeled after we’re married. 🙂 Thanks for sharing the information!!

    • Yes, lots of great benefits. Including making sure you go on Tricare prime or us family health plan while your future hubby is deployed. It is great insurance with full covereage while your spouse is deployed. not sure if everyone knows about applying for the upgrade while their spouse is active duty so just thought id mention it:)

Leave a Reply

