Day 87 – The Yoga and Positivity Every Day Challenge….

 

As you may be able to tell from my post last night, I am not a huge fan of the winter time.  In fact, I get down right depressed when the clocks turn back and the weather turns cold.  No matter how positive I am during the summer, the darkness and cold just affect me in a not so nice way.  Last winter wasn’t too bad…mainly because my husband was home and the weather was super mild.  But with hubby gone, the air getting colder, and the days getting shorter, I have had a pretty low mood the last few days.  Granted, I am doing better than I have in the past…my outlook on life is in such a good place that it’s hard to stay as depressed as I used to get for long, but it’s still a struggle.  I’ve been having anxiety attacks the last week or so and I know it’s time to start formulating plans to get me safely and peacefully through the upcoming winter. 

I started those plans this morning, after a pretty rough and emotional start to my day…I failed at my attempt to hike with the dogs because it was just too cold, which then resulted in a cry session, especially after getting cut off in traffic, adding to my stress.  I decided that I wasn’t going to let my whole day be affected though.  I got home and jumped right into a wonderful yoga session.  I put on some of my new favorite tunes and got started on a relaxing and refreshing 30 minute mix of vinyasa and restorative poses.  After 15 minutes, I was happily in a wonderful yoga zone…thinking clearly and filling my heart with love and compassion. 

After that I ate a healthy lunch, and decided to read more of my awesome Buddhist philosophy book by Thich Naht Hahn, “You Are Here”…what a great reminder to live in the present moment, basking in the impermanence and interbeing of all things.  Also, getting to sit outside in the sunlight depsite the chill in the air was a super great way to get some much needed sunshine in my life!

20121106-180308.jpg

Later I began a new painting…I need to get back into my art habits…painting new artwork for our house will be a great thing to keep me busy this winter!

I also got to chat with my husband for a while online…what a wonderful surprise!  The dogs enjoyed the couch time too!

20121106-180318.jpg

I went into work early so I could go to yoga…I just wanted to really establish that calm and peaceful mindset within myself for the rest of the day…it was phenomenal and I got to talk to my supervisor about all the stress I’ve been under.  I’m realizing how important it is to share the things I’m going through when it comes to anxiety and stress rather than keeping it to myself.  I don’t want it to affect my work in some way and have it seem like I’m just slacking off when the real cause may just be how I was feeling that day.  She was very understanding which was great.

20121106-180324.jpg

I love this quote by Ram Dass…the quieter you can make your external world and internal dialouge, the more you can hear the truth and beauty all around and inside of you…the universal truths that surround us. 

Who wants to join me on my goal of doing a yoga/meditation/gratitude/positivity practice every day this year?  I really want to make it a daily occurence…hopefully first thing in the morning, even if it’s just for 20 minutes.  A few sun salutations, some deep breathing, a meditation on peace, goodness, and light… I think it will yield great rewards.  I’m hoping to keep consistent and grounded all through the winter and into the warmth once more!

2 Comments

Filed under fitness, Life, Uncategorized, yoga

2 responses to “Day 87 – The Yoga and Positivity Every Day Challenge….

  1. Joanna Schwartz

    Theresa, I am with you on the yoga/mindfulness/gratefulness challenge. Any ideas for how to do it? – Joanna

    • Well my goal is to do at least 30 minutes of yoga and meditation every day throughout the winter. I want to keep my meditations gratitude and clarity focused. I did my practice in front of the windows today for some natural light, it was great:).

Leave a Reply

