Food for Friday!

With all my talk of fitness and food on here, I realize I haven’t posted much about what I actually eat!  With so many allergies, it can be hard to eat nutritious and filling food that actually tastes good.  I wanted to share a typical day’s worth of meals so that anyone else with allergies or following a vegetarian/gluten free lifestyle can get some healthy ideas:)

20121109-173058.jpg

First comes breakfast!

On a typical day I’ll eat sunflower seed butter with a rice cake if I’m in a rush.  On the rare mornings I have time, I’ll make my favorite Berry Mash!

Berry Mash Recipe:

1 1/2 cups frozen berries (raspberry, strawberry, blueberry)

1/2 cup applesauce

1 1/2 tablespoons almond butter

cinnamon

2 tablespoons flaxseed

Heat berries until they are warm and mash-able, mix in other ingredients…it’s really that simple and oh so tasty!

Next comes LUNCH….

20121109-173106.jpg

I was vegan for a while, but after my aforementioned battles with a severe and recently diagnosed vitamin b12 deficiency, alone with pretty bad eczema, I have been adding fish and eggs into my semi-vegetarian diet.  Today’s lunch was pan-seared wild

caught tuna from Trader Joe’s , seasoned with dill, salt, and pepper, along with a healthy portion of steamed broccoli, all topped off with red and green salsa!  Delicious!

For my evening snack/dessert….

20121109-173113.jpg

…I made my famous Pumpkin Mash, which I’ve written about before.  Pumpkin puree, applesauce, almond butter, chocolate chips, and cinnamon, all melted together to form a wonderful, gooey, delicious dessert!  In love with this.

During my evening yoga practice I was craving some tea, so I made a new flavor I bought today at Whole Foods from Republic of Tea!

20121109-173120.jpg
Green Rooibos Tea with Plantain and Coconut!  Oh my goodness…SO SO good!  I am addicted after just one cup!  (Also note the wonderful mortar/pestle and plantain smasher in the background that my dear friend Ashley got me from the Dominican Republic…I think they are so neat!)

20121109-173127.jpg

I’m not all that hungry tonight, since my only workout was a short hike with the dogs and 30 minutes of my own yoga practice…I’ll probably have a nice snack of a few figs (my FAVORITE snack) along with maybe a rice cake and some sunflower seed butter (the Once Again Organic Sunflower seed butter is AMAZING!)

So this is a typical day of food for me…usually adds up to about 1300-1400 calories.  If I do a hard workout, I’ll add in a little more for dinner…usually carrots and hummus, maybe two rice cakes, or some veggie sushi!  What does a typical food day look like for you?

Leave a comment

Filed under fitness, food, Life, recipes

Leave a Reply

