Day 93 summer in November:)

I am currently blogging instead of doing much needed school work…uhoh!  The semester is winding down and I feel like I don’t even know where I stand.  Between internship, practicum, and an independent study I keep very busy, but I don’t know if I am where I need to be on work.  There are no set due dates for most of my work, so I feel like I should be doing more so it doesn’t all creep up on me in December.  My goal for when I get home is to do at least one or two new assignments!

Today was an absolutely perfectly wonderful day!  70 degrees in November!  And the week after a snow storm!  I was in HEAVEN! 

In case you can’t tell from my ups and downs the last few weeks…I am not a winter-person.  The summer is where I belong.  Someday I am going to live in a place where it never gets below 50 degrees.  Fact.  It’s going to happen.  I get so much more done when the weather is nice…and I’m so much happier and upbeat!

To start off the morning, the puppies and I went for a wonderful hike at our favorite sand dunes!

20121112-173512.jpg

Then I decided I was going to throw on some running clothes and head to Newport and the beach for a nice run on Cliff Walk…my FAVORITE place to run!  As much as I love our house and our new town, I do miss coastal living and the active lifestyle of Newport with so many avid runners and cyclists, as well as recreation friendly sidewalks and trails everywhere!

Of course to celebrate the nice weather, I had to play on the tire swing Eric built me this summer…I think it’s fabulous!

20121112-173523.jpg

20121112-173529.jpg

Started off on the cliffwalk…gorgeous day!20121112-173535.jpg

 

I conveniently ignored the fence and signs that cliff walk was closed for 2 miles…along with this sign… I figured there may be some debris from the storm but that the city was just being overly cautious.  And darn it, I drove 40 minutes to hike this trail, I’m not turning back!20121112-173540.jpg

 

Turns out the signs were there for a reason…half of the ocean cliff fences had been washed away in the storm!  It was pretty dangerous!  My poor hands and wrists after a fall involving a fence that grabbed my shoe…20121112-173551.jpg

It was such a gorgeous day I ignored the precarious debris, and continued my run.

20121112-173546.jpg

I had to scale a few ocean walls to get past the cliffs, but all in all, I made it through safely!

20121112-173556.jpg

20121112-173606.jpg

20121112-173615.jpg

Perfect day!

20121112-173621.jpg

I call this ‘broken ankle path’:

20121112-173610.jpg

Looking happy around mile 3 (I did 4 miles overall, but an extra mile of cooldown walking…slowly getting my mileage back)!

20121112-173626.jpg

Needless to say I took the main roads back to Salve’s campus…it never ceases to amaze me…the architecture and old growth European trees in Newport are so neat!

 

20121112-173632.jpg

 It was a gorgeous day and all that sunshine and fresh air definitely took away any winter blues I had been feeling.  Definitely relating well to one of my favorite songs today…

Leave a comment

Filed under fitness, Life, running, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

