Days 173-175…wonderful weekend…puppies, yoga, art, running, and food!

 

It’s finally FEBRUARY!  And my homecoming calendar says it’s about 4 1/2 months til hubby comes home!:)  E’s birthday is this week and I feel so bad I don’t get to spend it with him…his last deployment he had leave for his birthday week.  Although, I would much rather have this shorter deployment and no leave time…9 months is a lot better than 11-12!

20130204-082038.jpg

We had a HUGE windstorm this week that knocked down a lot of branches.  The doggies thought that toys had miraculously fallen from the heavens and had a super fun weekend with all the debris.

20130204-082043.jpg

Since it was a heck of a lot colder this weekend than it had been all week, and since I was exhausted from getting back into the swing of teaching yoga/dance almost every day, we had a LOT of snuggle time this weekend…

20130204-082054.jpg20130204-082059.jpg20130204-082104.jpg

20130204-082112.jpg20130204-082123.jpg

Can you find me in the last picture?  I’m hidden under two big pit bulls…snuggle monsters attack!

Saturday was another fun filled class at the studio and a fun picture afterwards since I wanted to show E I wear the bracelet he got me when I teach…lapis is such a calming stone, it is a great way to have a relaxing class. I have also become obsessed with tiger’s eye this week…I’ve been wearing my old bracelet made with tigers eye and it really does seem to bring a sense of clarity and peace. I can’t explain it, but I’m totally becoming obsessed with precious stones!

20130204-082127.jpg

We also installed a new door lock since our old one was literally getting blown open by the WIND…not super safe.  I told hubby now he can tell everyone that he left for a deployment and his wife changed the locks on him…

20130204-082132.jpg

Chloe dragging an entire tree branch across the yard…she must be able to pull 3 times her own weight…

20130204-082136.jpg

I had the genius idea this weekend to rip up the ugly linoleum in our bedroom…but underneath the tile and on top of the wood is a gross felt-like layer that is NOT coming off.  So sad…whoever did the flooring in this house was an ass.  They covered up all the hardwood with horrible adhesive and linoleum…no sheet in between to save the wood floors.  So frustrating.

20130204-082140.jpg

Yesterday I went to teach my normal Sunday class…and I waited and waited….taking random pictures of the studio…

20130204-082146.jpg

And random pictures of my mat…and my feet…

20130204-082150.jpg

But no one came!  Then I remembered a) it was about 20 degrees and most of my clients walk to class, and b) it was apparently Superbowl sunday…..

So I drove over to the gym and jumped on the treadmill for an easy 4 miles!

20130204-082154.jpg

It was a great run!  I averaged a 10min/mile pace, but I did intervals.  Started out at about 10:50, then 10:30, then 9:40, then 9, and for the last half mile 8:30!  I am new to the whole speed work thing, but progressively going faster as I go longer seems to work for me…not sure if there is a real name for it (thought I should since I’m a personal trainer and have now been running for 7 years…oooops).  I felt amazing afterwards though!

20130204-082159.jpg

More cute puppy time after the gym…I couldn’t help it, I was a crazy obsessive doggy mom this weekend!:)

20130204-082203.jpg

I also got a chance to do some fun yoga art….I love doing pieces of art around favorite quotes.

20130204-082208.jpg

I added it to my fireplace collection…although I dont know how happy E will be to come home and find his sports memorabilia moved and my paintings in their place!

20130204-082213.jpg

For a small extra bday gift for E, I saw this quote on pinterest and thought it would make a cute painting…I’m going to attach ribbon to it and hang it up in our room!

20130204-082217.jpg

Last night’s dinner was one of my easy favorites…wild brown rice with broccoli and carrots, mixed with Trader Joe’s refried beans, and salsa.  Quick, easy, and perfect winter comfort food!

I have been eating more and more calories lately….in an attempt to be healthier and get my metabolism back to wear it needs to be after years of restricting and dieting.  It’s a hard process, but I’ve found, as I have at other times in my life, that running is the best thing to do when you want to regulate your diet.  For me, running helps put me in touch with my hunger…I know after I run that I need to fuel my body and that my cravings are because I actually worked hard and need the food.  Getting back into heavy weight training and running have made me look and feel so much better…and overcoming the vitamin deficiencies I had been struggling with has been amazing.  However, it never gets easy seeing the numbers on the scale go up….which is why I’ve been making an effort to only check my weight once every week or so.  Today I realized I have officially gained 15 lbs since last summer…but I know that I look so much better than I did then.  I’m not saying I don’t have room for improvement (2 desserts some day isn’t the healthiest option!)…but I am a strong believer that you can be healthier and happier at a heavier weight.  I just need to keep reminding myself that having energy, running distance, lifting heavy, and looking and feeling great have nothing to do with numbers on a scale and everything to do with being a balanced, healthy, strong person.  I may still struggle sometimes, but I’m getting there!

20130204-082221.jpg

And as the perfect ending to this post…remember, sometimes you just need to hide your face, bury yourself in the corner of the couch, and hide away from the world for a day…oh, little brown dog, you are ridiculous…

2 Comments

Filed under army wife, dogs, fitness, food, Life, recipes, recovery, running, weight, weight loss, yoga

2 responses to “Days 173-175…wonderful weekend…puppies, yoga, art, running, and food!

  1. congrats lady, you are doing some hard work but it will be worth it. finding the happy place for your body is tough but you have such a great mentality about it! I adore homemade calendars, we make them for my great aunt and grandma each christmas. it is their favorite gift

    • Thanks for the support:) Yoga and running and lifting are all the biggest helps in finding a healthy body image. Ihad a setback this year with a bad vitamin deficiency from my restricted eating and allergy issues and wasn’t able to work out for a while, which was really putting me in a bad place mentally. Now that my energy is back, I am feeling so much better and gaining a more positive outlook again!

      Homemade calendars are my favorite cheesy gift:)

Leave a Reply

