Days 183-187…distance running and a new diet for spring!

As always, let’s start out the day with cute puppy snuggles.  What would I do without these two?

20130214-082457.jpg

I was happy with my simple yet classy outfit on Monday…I needed something that could get me from work to class to workout with minimal changes…I also was a big fan of how my lazy curly hair was looking, so I snapped a pic!

20130214-082503.jpg

School definitely should have been cancelled Monday…the roads in the city were NOT safe at all, but I made it in on time!

20130214-082509.jpg

After being cooped up all week, I needed a run…but the treadmills were full, and also I’m sick of treadmills this winter, so I hit the indoor track!

Typically I get through about a mile down there and give up…it can be monotonous and the surface isn’t too forgiving on your shins….but I was desparate for a long run!

20130214-082517.jpg

So instead of counting laps, I just started running at 4:40 and told myself I would stop at 5:20 or 5:30…whichever felt better.  I know I usually average out to 10min/miles on a long run so I didn’t count laps, just time, and man did that help make track running less horrible!

I ended up going the full 50 minutes…5 whole miles on a 1/8 mile track…that’s 45 laps!  With the right music and a good attitude though, it really wasn’t bad!  And afterwards I was feeling great!

20130214-082522.jpg

So, let’s move on to diet…I’ve struggled for years with finding the right balance between working out and healthy eating.  I struggle to eat the right balance of proteins and carbs and fats because of all of my allergies, I have a wicked sweet tooth, and body image issues only compound everything else.  I don’t know why, but no matter how much I work out, no matter how many calories I burn, if I eat over 1400 a day I gain weight.  It doesn’t make sense, and I know this from my personal training background, but for some reason the simple mathematics of calories in versus calories out doesn’t equate with my body.  I tried to do things the mathematical way…I tried to escape the cycle of dieting obsessively and weighing myself everyday…I relied on the fact that as long as my net calories for the day were under 1000 after exercise, I’d be fine.  I’m not.  Somehow I gained 15 pounds since last June.  This is so not cool.  I know some of it is muscle because I finally have my vitamin deficiencies under control and have been able to hit the gym hard and lift heavier…but I also did a new body fat test and it is not all muscle gain, as much as I’d like it to be.  My body fat % went up almost 5%.

So, with perfect timing…I’m a lapsed Catholic and Lent seems as good a time as any to start a new diet…I am starting fresh.  I am going back to my old diet…more vegan focused choices like fruits and veggies for more meals…big breakfast and lunch, just snacks for dinner…and under 1200 calories most days ( I will go up on days I run long or lift heavy).

I figured I’d post the quintessential ‘before’ picture…the start of my latest fitness journey.  What do I want to change?  I want my abs back and to get rid of the layer of fat on my stomach and hips.  I want the definition back in my thighs.  I want the lean toned look in my arms and back again.  And I want to lose about 10 pounds.

20130214-082531.jpg

Wednesday was day 1 and I was feeling great!  I forgot how good it felt to only eat when you are REALLY hungry.  I definitely fall into emotional eating more than I like to admit.  It is good for me to focus on eating clean and only eating when I’m craving something healthy.  Yesterday was mixed berries and almond butter for breakfast, broccoli and beans for lunch, chocolate chip cookie for a snack, and figs, pumpkin, applesauce, almond butter, and chocolate chips for dinner.

20130214-082614.jpg

Continuing the healthy theme, I went to Whole Foods last night and  bought a giant salad for today…I couldn’t help myself, I started off the day eating half of it for breakfast!  Spinach, green leaf, carrots, roasted potatoes and yams, quinoa, cranberries, and hummus!  Delicious!

20130214-082622.jpg

Also, I splurged and bought my FAVORITE…rooibos tea…obsessed!

20130214-082626.jpg

The puppies are being cute as always…couldn’t resist a fun photoshoot yesterday…

20130214-082538.jpg20130214-082544.jpg

And a nice update on the former foster pup…my mom sent me a pic of him with his favorite soccer ball…he looks so happy:)

20130214-082552.jpg

I cannot wait for spring…it is getting hard to drag myself out of bed on these chilly days…so of course I just snap pictures from my cozy, colorful retreat instead…

20130214-082559.jpg

I’m not the only one who hates the cold!  Can you spot the pit bull in this photo?

20130214-082605.jpg

On a side note, we are starting to get the estimate for redoing our kitchen and it SUCKS.  Everything is so expensive, I don’t know where to start.  Initially we wanted to take a wall and an archway down to open the room up into the dining room, but now looking at the budget I’m starting to think, hmmm…maybe we can live with the outdated layout and just buy new cabinets and such…. I hate spending money so it’s hard to make big decisions like this!  Has anyone else redone a kitchen on a budget?

20130214-082610.jpg

4 Comments

Filed under army wife, dogs, fitness, food, recovery, running, Uncategorized, weight, weight loss, yoga

4 responses to “Days 183-187…distance running and a new diet for spring!

  1. i haven’t run in an indoor track in ages but five miles on a small track like that is tough, good job. the breathing is always so dry in there!

  2. Good luck with changing things up for your diet and fitness goals. That sucks that you have to deal with the troubles of gaining weight when you wouldn’t normally expect to. I think since everyone’s bodies are different that whole calories in calories out thing isn’t always as simple as it should be. Like maybe it has something to do with hormones or it could be other factors.

    • Thanks! As a personal trainer, I totally agree with you…everyone’s bodies react differently. It’s hard when you see other people who can stick to 1600 calories a day, workout 30 mins a day, and be in perfect shape, while you struggle to maintain with an hour or more a day and 1400 calories. For now I am going back to my old routine of sticking to more endurance training and eating less calories, but keeping them high quality. That is what my body responds best to…long distance running, or hour cardio sessions and yoga with 1200-1300 calories a day.

Leave a Reply

