Day 188… Happy Valentine’s day!

Valentine’s morning started of with an epic dog makeout session on the couch.  Jack decided to pin Chloe by her neck and obsessively lick her face for about 10 minutes..I’d say love is in the air…20130214-191319.jpg20130214-191324.jpg

“I LOVE YOU! Let me kiss you!!!”20130214-191329.jpg

Because I have no romantic life, I just sat there and laughed at how cute they were and took pictures. 

Before I left for work, my grand Valentine’s Day gesture was cooking up a plate of fresh swordfish for the doggies for lunch.  Yes, that is where my life is right now…I cooked up a fancy gourmet feast for the dogs for this holiday…

Despite the snow, the sun really warmed things up today…45 degrees!  I needed some vitamin d, so I deemed it tropical PJ shorts weather and sat outside while the dogs played with snowballs.  Utter class with my pjs and hiking boots…my poor neighbors have probably stopped looking out their back windows at this point…

20130214-191333.jpg

Partly because I’m feeling nostalgic and partly because after the contractor came to do our kitchen estimate, he realized that we may have structural issues that need addressed in the living room instead…I’ve been pondering keeping the current layout of our dining room/kitchen…

20130214-191338.jpg

We were going ot take out the archway and the china cabinet and just open up that whole corner of the house so the kitchen and dining room were one big area.  

However:

A)The old fashioned craftsmanship of the built in cabinetry is growing on me, and

B) It is going to be super expensive to take out walls and move vents and things like that….at first we were fine with it, but if we are going to be paying for a new beam in the living room, I’m thinking no…

20130214-191342.jpg

So my new plan is to leave the layout as it is, but update everything.  I already removed the island (it was orange and gaudy and 50s…it used to be where the fridge is now…the fridge was in the far back corner that nees new electical work but will go back there after its done).

I think with updated cabinets and appliances, and ripping out all the upper walls (like I did on the right side of the photo below), the kitchen will feel more open and new even if it is still back in the corner of the house.  I’ll have to wait on that estimate before I make my decisions..I am also strongly considering paying someone to do the electrical and plumbing, but doing the cabinets and floors and tiles myself.  We will see…

20130214-191349.jpg

I’m stuck at work til midnight…not like it matters that it’s Valentine’s Day because my Valentine is halfway around the planet and probably has totally forgotten what day it is anyway.  I am waiting for a call so we can discuss the home repairs and some money issues, so maybe I’ll at least get to talk to him, but who knows.  I’m SO over this deployment.  It’s just to that point where it’s like okay, whatever, this just needs to end and in the meantime, I’m going to be a bitter old lady about it.  I have stopped returning the FRG phone calls because I feel like I might slip up when they ask how I am or if I need anything…something like “Well actually, between my two jobs, interning, and classes, I haven’t really gotten around to normal things like dishes and laundry, not to mention that my house is falling apart and my husband keeps pestering me to do the maintenance on his car that is under 2 feet of snow….wanna get started on all that? Should I make a check list for you?!?!” 

20130214-191353.jpg

I am committed to working out all night to stay awake and to get some of those feel good endorphins going.  My friend and I attemped to lift for about 20 minutes but I am so not in the lifting mood tonight…although I do LOVE my new lifting gloves! 

20130214-191357.jpg

We ran two miles on the track, but I think I’m going to head out to the arc trainer for round two of cardio in a bit.  Shoes are all laced up, I’m just looking for the motivation to get my butt out there!

2 Comments

Filed under army wife, dogs, fitness, home repair, Life, running, weight loss

2 responses to “Day 188… Happy Valentine’s day!

  1. Ugh deployments. I remember those, and do not miss them for a second. Actually, homecomings always made them worth it. The moment where you get to relive your “first kiss” and “first hug” all over again ❤

    Just keep yourself busy girl, and he'll be home before you know it!

    • You are so right…I know as soon as he comes home, all the stress and worries will just disappear because that is such an amazing feeling just knowing they are home and safe. But in the meantime, you are right, keeping busy is key! I have my hands full here so that is easy to do!:)

Leave a Reply

