Days 203-206…running and other spring adventures!

 

Ahhhh it’s spring!  Everyone roll around happily in the grass!

20130304-195051.jpg

The sun is shining, the birds are singing, and I’m once again happily sitting in the sun with my pups by my side, drinking tea…perfect morning!

20130304-195057.jpg

Springtime means wrestling matches are again a common occurence!

20130304-195103.jpg

I was feeling inspired to get back into music this week, so I busted out the keyboard.  I really want to get good at piano and flute and guitar and singing again. I’d love to find a local choir or orchestra next year.  I used to be SO musical…it was my whole life in high school and I really miss it!

20130304-195109.jpg

So the big crazy story this weekend was on Saturday…my routine oil change turned into a $600 repair with some issues they found…so I caught a cab home…and then realized I had left my house key on my keychain at the car repair place…wonderful.

Luckily our house is super hard to break into….but I remembered that the third floor windows don’t have locks on them…because honestly, who would climb three stories to break into the house?

20130304-195115.jpg

…..oh that’s right…this girl would.

20130304-195120.jpg

I somehow managed to climb the completely vertical ladder and get inside in one piece.  I was a little stressed after this whole occurrence and I felt bad for venting about it to my husband on our weekly phone call.  Looking back it’s actually kind of funny….but when you spend your entire paycheck in two days and go through this fiasco on top of all the other things going on around here I guess it can get a little overwhelming.  Oops.  I really need to get back on that ‘no complaining’ kick I had started a few weeks ago…

I’ll take a hint from the pups…just bask in the sunshine and relax!  No worries here!

20130304-195131.jpg

Sunday was a great day for yoga and for the first long run outside of the spring…I looped a local park and then ran a new long road down to a beach I hadn’t been to before…really fun!

20130304-195137.jpg

20130304-195142.jpg

Me showing off my frizzy running hair and fancy running jacket I forgot I had stashed in my closet!  Also note that I finally replaced the armband monster dog destroyed months ago…it was nice to not be clutching my iphone for dear life the entire run…

20130304-195146.jpg

5.64 miles in an hour…definitely need to work on getting my speed back, but it was a solid run and no pain in my hip, so I didn’t mind the slower pace!

After my run, I was exhausted!  I did some yoga around 6 and was ready for bed by 730!  12 hours later and I finally felt my energy come back…but it was nice to have a real genuine exhausted type of sleep….oh how I’ve missed long runs outside!

20130304-195259.jpg

Gotta love when cute puppies fall asleep in the middle of chewing on their toys…

20130304-195304.jpg

Even with my long run, I was proud of staying under my calorie budget for the day…I’m sticking to 1400 or less on days I work out, and other days I am aiming for 1200.  Today I was almost at 1400 again, but I know that my muscles need to repair after the long run yesterday…

20130304-195310.jpg

This morning I stared in an episode of Hoarders!!!

….just kidding…but I did clean out the basement and garage.

20130304-195315.jpg

SO much crap still down there from the previous owners.  I hate to be wasteful but the basement is moldy and I have decided to just trash everything down there….power tools and such can stay, but old furtniture, mattresses, lamps, etc are going to the dump…

Speaking of the dump, let’s check out my white trash outfit I wore for my junk-hauling trip…ratty old sweatpants and an oversized Budweiser tshirt…perrfecccttt….no one will bother me looking like this…

20130304-195319.jpg

This afternoon brought indecisiveness in the little monster…which stick do I want?  CANT DECIDE, MUST HAVE BOTH.

20130304-195323.jpg

After a long day, it was nice to come home to my lovely cabinet of TEA…yeah with my husband gone, I have taken over an entire cabinet for my tea…so what?  It’s GOOD FOR YOU….don’t judge.

20130304-195328.jpg

Random job search update…I have applied to at least 50 jobs in the last few months…it seems all the good counseling jobs require experience…which you need to get hired to get, but can’t get hired without…kind of a catch-22, no?  So I decided to start searching in the fitness sector.  In all honesty, fitness is my real passion, and I only want to work in counseling if it allows me to bring fitness and wellness into the job anyway.  So tonight I applied for a health and wellness coordinator job…parttime to start in the summer…I think it could work really well with what I want to do and I could possibly work some counseling hours as well.  We will see what happens!

2 Comments

Filed under army wife, dogs, fitness, food, home repair, Life, recovery, running, Uncategorized, weight loss, yoga

2 responses to “Days 203-206…running and other spring adventures!

  1. You can have any tea you want at any point with that cabinet! Nice. Hey, it really is good for you so there ain’t nothin’ wrong with that.
    You remind me of how musical I used to be, too. I can’t sing worth beans, but I used to be damn good at piano. We have a Baldwin downstairs but I never play it. So sad.

    • Haha yeah, I mean at least it’s not a hard alcohol cabinet…then it may be a problem lol! I really want to get back into music…in high school I didn’t go a day without playing an instrument and singing and I really miss that!

Leave a Reply

