Days 244-251…more random updates…

 

Can we tell it’s getting to be that time?  Even though it’s still far away in some regards, it’s also seeming more and more close….meaning it’s been harder and harder to concentrate and keep a train of thought.  My husband is coming home in roughly two months and I am too excited to sit still!  Maybe getting back into this blog, which helped keep me sane at the beginning of the deployment, will keep me sane for the end of it as well! 

Let’s start by introducing what I thought was a GREAT Yoga Journal article, by Coral Brown, a teacher right here in RI!  It is about strengthening your core, but she comes from the stance of your physical, emotional, and spiritual core…I really liked her paralels to strength and acceptance rather than the mainstream “Get a 6-pack now!” type articles in most fitness magazines.  Cool stuff, check it out!

20130418-134536.jpg

I taught a fair bit of yoga the last two weeks…always the anchor that keeps me grounded!

20130418-134544.jpg

I am super psyched to be feeling healthy and STRONG again, finally!  My muscles are back , I feel energized, able, and so happy and confident in my body again.  I credit so much of this with yoga.  Running has definitely been a huge factor, with getting my legs and energy levels and strength back, however yoga has been the biggest change in my life this year…teaching 4-5 times a week plus my own practice….my arms are stronger and more jacked than when I used to lift every other day.  I never realized the power of body weight exercises like chataranga and crow until now!  Love feeling strong and seeing new progress every week!

20130418-134550.jpg

Sunny weather means lots of hiking for the puppies this week! (Also it was school vacation so I didnt have internship for five whole days!!)

 

 

20130418-134630.jpg

I made them pose for a few pictures, they weren’t too amused haha.

20130418-134638.jpg

By the end of the week, Chlo-chlo was EXHAUSTED, so she took a nice nap in the sun… MOST EPIC PICTURE EVER…

20130418-134654.jpg

Every send some prayers out for our little foster pup who my mom adopted…he was attacked by a dog out on a walk and has a few puncture wounds:(  He is healing well, but it is such a shame that the other owner was so irresponsible…police are investigating and it looks like the owner may be charged with cruelty to the dog, which makes sense because dogs aren’t just vicious for no reason.  Sad situation, but I am glad he is feeling good…sending good vibes his way!

20130418-134701.jpg

We went for a wonderful hike this weekend…well actually two…one to tire the dogs out, then another one to find this awesome view and climb some fun cliffs!  Of course I had to do yoga on every boulder…

 

20130418-134726.jpg

20130418-134734.jpg

And who can see a bridge without DOING a bridge on it?  Not this girl…

20130418-134747.jpg

I also used my mornings off to finish painting the living room!  Yay for happy bright colors every where!

20130418-134756.jpg

And…..surprise!  More hikes at my favorite place!!!  These sand dunes make me feel like I’m living the dream out West, so that’s what I pretend whenever I’m hiking there…

20130418-134810.jpg

Poor pups were tired after all of my hiking adventures this week…they say “Ok, you can go back to internship now!”

 

20130418-134840.jpg

I LOVE this mix on 8tracks…so perfect for this upbeat sunny weather we’ve been having!

20130418-134849.jpg

We finally have a working LIGHT in our bedroom!  Since we’ve moved in we’ve relied on awkwardly placed lamps that have resulted in lots of stubbed toes…now let there be light!!  Next project before hubby comes home is a nice dark wood floor install and then our new bed comforter set…I think the dark browns will make the lavendar walls look less tacky..it didn’t look as ‘purple’ in the sample…

20130418-134904.jpg

On a side note, this just about summed up my week….I made SO many cookies!

20130418-134912.jpg

Took the pups for another hike today…then we got kicked out because apparently the air force uses the area to practice air drops of supplies on random days…super safe!  Haha.  I decided to go for a 4 mile run, which for some reason was a struggle…need to take some time off so I am all rested up for the half marathon….which is in less than two weeks!!!!  It snuck up on me fast, and my longest run has been less than 6.5miles…it’s gonna be rough…

20130418-134926.jpg

On a side note, when I flipped to the back of YJ today, I saw this….how…is…this…even…possible….???? 

20130418-134942.jpg

Leave a comment

Filed under army wife, dogs, fitness, food, recovery, running, weight, weight loss, yoga

Leave a Reply

